Polly Wood Crews Scholarship

Each year the Arkansas Committee awards the Polly Wood Crews Scholarship to an Arkansas woman artist to be used for educational purposes of the artist’s choice. Chosen from numerous applicants, the scholarship has enabled the selected artists to pursue opportunities for study and travel that have resulted in a significant impact on their work. It’s an investment in Arkansas women artists seeking to further their artistic skill and vision.


To issue a $2,000 scholarship to an outstanding woman artist from Arkansas, in pursuit and advancement of her artistic skills and talents.
Scholarships are unconditional awards granted in recognition of the artistic accomplishments and outstanding talent of the recipient. The scholarship award is made directly to the individual based on the creative excellence of the project or works submitted for review. The scholarship is a non-matching award. Recipients are responsible for any tax obligations under federal and state tax laws. The Arkansas Committee of the National Museum of Women in the Arts reserves the right not to make scholarship awards.


1. Applicant must be an Arkansas woman artist, 18 or older, residing in the state for at least one year.
2. Previous Arkansas Committee scholarship recipients are ineligible.
3. Current Arkansas Committee board members are ineligible.
4. Students may use scholarship for tuition or training in art programs.
5. Professional artists may use scholarship for travel, advanced training, and/or a specific project.
6. Scholarship will be awarded based on the Committee’s assessment of the proposed projects submitted.
7. Good quality digital images of three representative pieces of art should be submitted with the application.

8. Scholarship recipient must complete project within one year of scholarship award.
9. Recipient must submit a written report to the Scholarship Committee concerning how the funds were used.
10. Recipient must make an oral and visual presentation to the Arkansas Committee upon culmination of the project.


The deadline to apply is February 1 of each year.

Polly Crews Scholarship Application

  • Provide information starting with most recent date. If not applicable, leave blank.
  • Image files to be jpeg format only. No smaller than 1920 pixels on the longest side. File resolution 72 ppi/dpi. File size not to exceed 3 MB. Images must be correctly oriented. No Digital enhancements.
  • I do hereby certify that I meet the eligibility criteria for the scholarship as stated in these instructions, and that all facts and representations made in this application, including all attached documentation and materials, are true to the best of my knowledge. I further stipulate that if I am awarded a scholarship, I will make written, visual, and oral presentations to the Committee upon completion of my project.
  • The Scholarship Committee is a standing committee of the Arkansas Committee of the National Museum of Women in the Arts.

For additional information, please email:



Past Recipients

1995 – Cynthia Powell, Lisa Brumbelow

1996 – Brandy Banks, Jerri Miller, Lynn Hackney

1998 – Kathleen Holder

2000 – Debora Warren

2001 – Ramona Wood

2002 – Maria Botti Villegas

2003 – Ilayali Alvarez-Hallmark

2004 – Barbara Cade

2005 – Debbie Finley

2006 – Laura Waters

2009 – Diana Michelle Hausam

2010 – Katherine Strause

2012 – Mary Ann Stafford

2013 – Maxine Payne

2015 – Robin Miller-Bookhout

2016 – Beverly Buys