ACNMWA Artist Award

Each year the Arkansas Committee selects an outstanding Arkansas woman artist to receive the ACNMWA Artist Award. The one-time $2,000 grant is used for expenses related to professional development or pursuit of new creative work: workshop training, research, travel, and/or essential equipment or supplies. Applicants must complete the online application form: the deadline is February 1. The recipient is notified March 1. The award is an investment in Arkansas women artists seeking to further artistic skills and creative vision.


To issue a $2,000 stipend to an outstanding woman artist from Arkansas, in pursuit and advancement of her artistic skills and talents.


This unconditional award is granted in recognition of the artistic accomplishments and outstanding talent of the recipient. The award is made directly to the individual, is non-matching, and is based on the creative excellence of the project or works submitted for review. The recipient is required to complete a consent form giving ACNMWA permission to disseminate her name, provided photograph, and project information for publicity and educational purposes. The recipient is required to complete a W-9 form for ACNMWA tax purposes and is responsible for any personal tax obligations under federal and state tax laws.  ACNMWA reserves the right not to issue the award in any given year.


1. Applicant must be an Arkansas woman artist, 18 or older, residing in the state for at least one year.
2. Previous Arkansas Committee Artist Award recipients are ineligible.
3. Current Arkansas Committee board members are ineligible.
4. Students may use the stipend for tuition or training in art programs.
5. Professional artists may use the stipend for travel, workshops/training, and/or a specific project.

6. Recipient must complete the project within one year of receiving the award stipend.

7. Recipient must submit a report of how the stipend was used to the ACNMWA Artist Award Committee.
8. Recipient must make an oral and visual presentation to the ACNMWA Board of Directors upon the culmination of the project.
9. The stipend is awarded based on the Committee’s assessment of the proposed project submitted.
10. Good quality digital images of three representative pieces of art must be submitted with the application.

Image Requirements:

The deadline to apply is February 1 of each year.

ACNMWA Artist Award Application

  • Provide information starting with most recent date. If not applicable, leave blank.
  • Image files to be jpeg format only. No smaller than 1920 pixels on the longest side. File resolution 72 ppi/dpi. File size not to exceed 3 MB. Images must be correctly oriented. No Digital enhancements.
  • I do hereby certify that I meet the eligibility criteria for the scholarship as stated in these instructions, and that all facts and representations made in this application, including all attached documentation and materials, are true to the best of my knowledge. I further stipulate that if I am awarded a scholarship, I will make written, visual, and oral presentations to the Committee upon completion of my project.
  • The ACNMWA Artist Award Committee is a standing committee of the Arkansas Committee of the National Museum of Women in the Arts.

For additional information, please email:

Past Recipients

1995 – Cynthia Powell, Lisa Brumbelow

1996 – Brandy Banks, Jerri Miller, Lynn Hackney

1998 – Kathleen Holder

2000 – Debora Warren

2001 – Ramona Wood

2002 – Maria Botti Villegas

2003 – Ilayali Alvarez-Hallmark

2004 – Barbara Cade

2005 – Debbie Finley

2006 – Laura Waters

2009 – Diana Michelle Hausam

2010 – Katherine Strause

2012 – Mary Ann Stafford

2013 – Maxine Payne

2015 – Robin Miller-Bookhout

2016 – Beverly Buys

2017 – Rachel Trusty

2018 – Melissa Cowper-Smith